Lars Gaustad Award

The Lars Gaustad Award is given in recognition of his 22 years as chair of the IASA Technical Committee (TC) [1], during which time many of IASA’s most influential documents were crafted, significantly shaping the practice of audiovisual preservation worldwide.

The Award is given to expand the TC, by adding to its membership input on factors and expertise that are currently under-represented, such as challenges faced under different institutional settings [2], areas of the globe with environmental, political and institutional challenges; or fields of knowledge potentially useful to preservation [3]. Members who join the TC agree to the principles that underpin its work as professional sound and audiovisual archivists and support the standards, practices and strategies recommended in technical publications such as IASA-TC 03, IASA-TC 04 and TC 06.

The Award is for five years membership of IASA including TC membership. One Award is given annually.

The Lars Gaustad Award is funded by George Blood Audio/Video/Film/Data.

  1. More information about the Technical Committee may be found here:
  2. For example, small institutions, private collections, transient entities, corporations
  3. For example computer and data sciences, materials science, chemistry, project management, manufacturing.


How to nominate a candidate for the Lars Gaustad Award

Nominations for potential candidates may be made at any time by any individual, (the 'Proposer'), through the nomination form below. Individuals may nominate themselves. A Nomination Committee established by the TC will assess all nominations. An Award winner will be announced in December of each year.