Travel Awards

Guidelines for Travel Awards for IASA Members to attend the Annual Conference

  1. Travel Award applications will only be accepted from IASA Members (Individual, Institutional and Sustaining) in good standing, meaning dues up to and including the current year have to be paid before the application deadline.
  2. While the aim of IASA is to encourage Members to attend the annual conference by supporting their travel costs, such support must take account of the current financial health of the Association. If your application is successful, IASA will refund between 50% -100% of travel costs (cheapest air or train fare between the applicant's home and the conference venue). Applicants are encouraged to seek additional funding where possible.
  3. IASA will, in addition, waive the grantee's registration fee.
  4. Applications from Members from developing countries*, those presenting a paper, and first-time applicants, will be prioritized.
  5. Applications must be sent in writing (by letter, fax or e-mail) to the Secretary-General in response to the announcement of travel and research grants which are published in the IASA e-Bulletin and on the IASA website. Applications must contain the 100% amount of the travel costs in US$ or Euros, confirmed by an official travel agency. The confirmation of travel agency costs must be submitted with the application form. Please use the Travel Award Application Form (Members only).
  6. Applications by representatives of Institutional and Sustaining Members must be countersigned by the director or a senior officer of their organisation as evidence that their attendance has been authorised.
  7. The Secretary-General will check all applications received by the appointed deadline and will submit them to the Executive Board for discussion and approval.
  8. Applicants will be informed as soon as possible of the result after the Board's decision has been reached. The Board will aim to respond 6 months prior to travel.
  9. IASA will not pay awards in advance of travel.
  10. Copies of the travel documents will have to be presented by the grantee to the IASA Treasurer during the conference. Payment will be effected after the conference, via bank transfer only. Please ensure that the Treasurer receives the correct banking details for re-imbursement. If bank transfer is not possible, please indicate on the application form the method of payment preferred. Note: If 50% of the travel costs were granted, then maximum 50% of receipts presented (up to the granted amount) will be disbursed.
  11. IASA Travel Awards are determined for Members only; accompanying persons have to pay for themselves.

February 2013
5th revision

Updated 15 March 2019

*least developed countries are defined using the World Bank’s Gross Domestic Product (at purchasing power parity) per Capita, which is politically neutral and is updated every year. The value for the World is used as the break point. The list can be downloaded from this page:

2023 Travel Awards

  1. Lynn Johnson, South Africa
  2. Gita Flam, Israel
  3. John-Francis Goodacre, Sweden
  4. Ogone Phetlhu, South Africa
  5. Gustavo Navarro, Argentina
  6. Shado Bayane, Botswana
  7. Dilyana Kurdova, Bulgaria
  8. Isabel Wschebor, Uruguay
  9. Ilse Assman, South Africa
  10. Mohd Nasser, Malaysia
  11. Helen Grogan, Australia
  12. Zilia Imamutdinova, Russia
  13. Ferenc János Szabó, Hungary
  14. Susan Mvungi, South Africa
  15. Andrea Walker, South Africa
  16. Jing Liu & ZhiChao Fang, China
  17. Susana Belchior, Portugal
  18. Ketevan Davitashvili, Georgia
  19. Ketevan Matiashvili, Georgia
  20. Cristina Martí Martínez, Spain
  21. Allison Schein Holmes, USA
  22. Benjamin Amakye-Boateng, Ghana
  23. Farah Zahra, Iraq
  24. Kelli Hix
  25. Jackie Jay
  26. CK Ming
  27. Nadja šičarov

2022 Travel Awards

  1. Aisha Miyuki Meyer, USA
  2. Desiree Alexander, USA
  3. J.L. Simonson, USA
  4. Eric Dawson, USA
  5. Audra Adomenas, USA
  6. Cadu Marconi, Brazil
  7. Emily Collins, Canada
  8. Eugenio Amen, Uruguay
  9. Fabricia Malán, Uruguay
  10. Jaione Landaberea, Spain
  11. Xiaoshi Wei, UK
  12. Nathaniel Kpogo Worlanyo, Ghana
  13. Elizabeth Torres, Denmark
  14. Giusi Arvonio, Italy

2019 Travel Awards

  1. Chinthaka Prageeth Meddegoda, Sri Lanka
  2. Chimwemwe Sumani, Malawi
  3. George Gyesaw, Ghana
  4. Judith Opoku-Boateng, Ghana
  5. Lee Watkins, South Africa
  6. Schalk van der Merwe, South Africa
  7. Rosemarie Roque, Philippines
  8. Shubha Chaudhuri, India
  9. Abhimonyu Deb, India
  10. Ninna de Araújo, Brazil
  11. Marisol Zuniga, Guatemala
  12. Laurie Austin, USA
  13. Miyuki Meyer, USA
  14. Audra Adomenas, USA
  15. Rosie Rowe, USA
  16. Steven Villereal, USA
  17. Andrew Chernevych, Canada
  18. Susana Belchior, Portugal
  19. Marija Duminic, Serbia
  20. Killian Downing, Ireland
  21. Ana Laura Masiello, Argentina  

2018 Travel Awards

  1. Isaac Machafa, Zimbabwe
  2. Wonder Maguraushe, Zimbabwe
  3. Susan Kibaara, Kenya
  4. Diane Thram, South Africa
  5. Jyldyz Bekbalaeva Kyrgyzstan
  6. Gila Flam, Israel
  7. Rosalinda Rowe, USA
  8. Nicolette Khan, USA
  9. Diane Chester, Australia
  10. Laura Garbes, USA
  11. Katie Young, UK
  12. Peter Laurence, USA
  13. Irfan Zuberi, India
  14. Audra Adomenas, USA

2017 Travel Awards

  1. Juozas Markauskas, Lithuania
  2. Lauren Sorensen, USA
  3. Cadu Marconi, Brazil
  4. Jennifer Lee Vaughn, USA
  5. Valerie Love, New Zealand
  6. Angélique Bonamy, UK
  7. Diane Thram, South Africa
  8. Thomas Henry, France
  9. Carmen Ordoño, Mexico
  10. Michael Laney, USA
  11. Judith Opoku-Boateng, Ghana
  12. George Gyesaw, Ghana
  13. Karl Fitzke, USA
  14. Luisa Fernanda Ordoñez Ortegon, Mexico
  15. Circe Sánchez, Mexico
  16. Somaya Langley, UK
  17. Tim Nikolsky, Australia
  18. Toby Seay, USA

2016 Travel Awards

Recipients of the IASA 2016 Travel Awards:

  1. Gus Urban, Argentina
  2. Verbeke Noortje, VIAA VZW, Belgium
  3. Ingela Utterström, Kungliga biblioteket, Sweden
  4. Lee Watkins, Rhodes University Grahamstown, South Africa
  5. Iva Horová, Národní technická knihovna, Czech Republic
  6. Janet Topp Fargion, British Library, United Kingdom
  7. Suresh Chandvankar, Mumbai, India
  8. Lamine Wone, Ernst & Young, Senegal
  9. Filip Sír, Virtual The Moravian Library in Brno, Czech Republic      
  10. Gisa Jähnichen, Shanghai Conservatory of Music, China
  11. Alessandro Argentini, Italy
  12. Judith Opoku-Boateng, University of Ghana – Ghana
  13. Adam Schutzman, Harvard Business School, USA
  14. Shubha Chaudhuri, Archives and Research Centre for Ethnomusicology, India

2015 Travel Awards

  1. Lamine Wone, Senegal
  2. Sunny Mathew Kunnelpurayidom, India
  3. Pawarisa Nipawattanapong, Thailand
  4. Grace Toland, Ireland  
  5. Rosalinda G. Rowe, New Zealand
  6. Bronwyn Officer, New Zealand
  7. Allison Schein, USA
  8. Grace Radkins, USA
  9. Toby Seay, USA
  10. Tre Berney, USA
  11. Rebecca Feynberg, USA
  12. Aaron M  Bittel, USA
  13. Gisa Jähnichen, Germany
  14. Kevin Bradley, Australia
  15. Zane Grosa, Latvia
  16. Suresh Chandvankar, India
  17. María del Carmen Ordoño Vidaña, Mexico
  18. Judy Namutowe, Zambia

2014 Travel Awards

  1. Filip Sir, Czech Republic
  2. Marie O'Connell, New Zealand
  3. Bernardo Bortolotti, CPDOC / FGV
  4. Melchor Baltazar Garcia Lopez Jefe de, Mexico
  5. Shubha Chaudhuri, India
  6. Zane Grosa, Latvia
  7. Ndahambelela Hertha Lukileni, Namibia
  8. Janet Topp Fargion, UK
  9. Gus Urban, Argentina
  10. María del Carmen Ordoño Vidaña, Mexico
  11. Julio Delgado Revueltas, Mexico
  12. Collence Chisita, Namibia
  13. Doreen Ernesta, Seychelles
  14. Catherine Belmont, Seychelles
  15. Gisa Jähnichen Malaysia
  16. Toby Seay, USA
  17. Nthabiseng B. Ncala, Kwa-Zulu Natal